What is an Ancestral Bird?

 

origins2achicadee-dee

Susan Bird Olds (left), Topsy and Christina Olds (Chickadee by Topsy 1957)

It’s a heritage thing! I chose the name Ancestral Bird for a few reasons. My middle name is Bird and my great-grandfather Henry was an ornithologist. Henry and my great-grandmother Topsy travelled around the country following the migration of song birds. Topsy painted wonderful watercolors of birds. I am planning a family tree quilt where each member of the family will be represented by a different bird. My father’s name was Robin so that’s easy. When I asked him what kind of bird my mother would have been, he replied, “Well, a cuckoo bird of course!” No love lost there… My husband David thinks I would be a hybrid bird- a cross between an ostrich and a chickadee- HUH?

birds of paradise

Ancestral Birds in Hawaii (Aren’t they beautiful? My Aunt Steve on the right with a friend)

What kind of bird would you be?

A Bird in the Bush..Born on the 4th of July 2

I Dreamed I was FlyingFragility of beauty 1Fragility of beauty 2

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Olds Papak
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 06:16:41

    Susie….. I have that photo of the two women, Chris forwarded to me… But thought that was Eloise on the right, and either Aunt Steve or her mother! On the left???? And the photo of whom I thought was Eloise sitting at her mother’s/Aunt Steve’s feet in the grass in same dresses…..????? Confused!!!

    Who’s who????

    Reply

  2. Stephanie Olds Papak
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 06:18:50

    Birds: I have a lifelong affair with Cardinals going on in my life! Feed a family of them every morning:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

