Healer of Our Every Ill

Redon2

Painting by Odilon Redon

Today in church we sang the most beautiful hymn. I’ve copied the first stanza. Wish you could have heard it- the melody was so moving.

Healer of our every ill, light of each tomorrow; give us peace beyond our fear and hope beyond our sorrow.

You who know our fears and sadness, grace us with your peace and gladness; Spirit of all comfort, fill each heart.

Which brings me to tell you about a young woman I met yesterday. Her name is Molly and she’s in her early 20s. Molly has a rare disease that can compromise her health and life. Last July she had her foot amputated. Believe me when I say she radiated JOY. She will be competing in the Paralympics in the freestyle swimming competition. I was totally in awe of this young woman- what an inspiration she would be to others facing grave circumstances. I was thinking about her while we were singing the hymn. I will post more about her in the coming days.

If you’d like to learn more about Molly’s journey, go to http://www.facebook.com/mollyparalympics

Molly 2Molly

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. terrienix@comcast.net
    Feb 01, 2015 @ 20:39:49

    Susan, the words to the hymn are lovely…..I may try o find a recording on line.

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Feb 02, 2015 @ 23:34:41

    Susan, thanks for sharing those words. It is a good song! I enjoyed it too. If anyone would like to find words and tune, I found it at http://www.hymnary.org. Title is “Healer of Our Every Ill” by Marty Haugen.

    Reply

  3. Stephanie Olds Papak
    Feb 08, 2015 @ 07:31:47

    God bless her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

